Daily Pro Wrestling History (05/17): Bruno Sammartino wins WWWF title


Madison Square Garden:
– Bruno Sammartino defeated WWWF World Champion Buddy Rogers in 47 seconds to win the championship 


Moline, Illinois:
– The Crusher & Ernie Ladd & Verne Gagne beat Larry Hennig & Harley Race & The Alaskan
– Reggie Parks beat Angelo Poffo 
– Ernie Ladd beat Larry Hennig

Kansas City, Missouri:
– Dick the Bruiser & Bob Ellis defeated Bob Geigel & Bob Brown 
– World Heavyweight Champion Gene Kiniski defeated The Mongolian Stomper in three falls


Kansas City, Kansas:
– Harley Race defeated Black Angus 
– Bob Geigel & Bobo Brazil defeated Togo the Great & Tokyo Joe
– Jim Dalton & Frank Diamond defeated Argentina Zuma & L.D. Lewis
– Mike George defeated Bob Orton
– Omar Atlas defeated The Terror via DQ
– Danny Little Bear fought Bob Brown to a double-DQ


Denver, Colorado:
– The Crusher & Wahoo McDaniel beat Champions Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens on a 3rd fall COR to win the AWA Tag Team titles
– Superstar Billy Graham beat Geoff Portz
– Chris Taylor beat Moose Morowski 
– Larry Hennig beat Bull Bullinski 
– Greg Gagne beat Odd Job Tosh Tojo by DQ 

Atlanta, Georgia:
– In a Lights Out Match, Andre The Giant & Mr. Wrestling II beat Bill Watts & Big Bad John
– NWA World Champion Jack Brisco beat Dusty Rhodes via DQ
– Georgia Tag Team Champions Ronnie Garvin & Terry Garvin beat Bob Armstrong & Haystack Calhoun
– Southern States Champion Jerry Brisco beat Bobby Duncum
– Gene Anderson & Ole Anderson beat Steve Keirn & Dennis Stamp
– Art Nelson drew Jerry Oates
– Bob Sweetan beat Mike Stallings
– Ali Vaziri beat Zebra Kid


Honolulu, Hawaii:
– AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel beat Rick Martel 
– In a Loser Leaves Town Match; Tor Kamata beat Billy White Wolf
– Buddy Rose & John Studd beat Bill Francis & Russ Francis
– John Tolos beat Chris Markoff by DQ
– George Wells beat Rocky Tomayo


Atlanta, Georgia:
– Tommy Rich won a tournament for the Georgia Heavyweight championship; beating Greg Valentine in the finals
– In a No Time Limit, No DQ Match: Ted Dibiase & Junkyard Dog beat The Freebirds’ Terry Gordy & Buddy Roberts


Birmingham, Alabama:
– NWA World champion Ric Flair defeated Terry Gordy 
– Roy Welch beat Tommy Wright
– Scott McGhee beat Ted Oates
– Jacques Rougeau beat Jos LeDuc by DQ
– Ron & Robert Fuller beat New Zealand Sheepherders


Nagasaki, Japan:
– Tatsutoshi Gotoh defeated Pat Tanaka
– Shunji Kosugi defeated Naoki Sano
– Kuniaki Kobayashi & Black Cat defeated Norio Honaga & Fumihiro Niikura
– Big John Studd & Otto Wanz defeated Animal Hamaguchi & Isamu Teranishi
– Adrian Adonis defeated Osamu Kido
– Riki Choshu & Yoshikai Yatsu fought Fujiwara & Kengo Kimura to a double countout
– Dick Murdoch defeated Ken Patera
– Andre The Giant defeated Mr. Saito via disqualification
– Antonio Inoki, Seigi Sakaguchi, & Tatsumi Fujinami defeated WWF World Champion Hulk Hogan, the Masked Superstar, & John Quinn


Hammond, Indiana:
– Playboy Buddy Rose & Doug Somers defeated Scott Hall & Curt Hennig to win the AWA World Tag Team Championship
– Colonel DeBeers beat Earthquake Ferris

Baltimore, Maryland:
– Dusty Rhodes & the Road Warriors defeated NWA Six Man Tag Team Champions Baron Von Raschke, Ivan & Nikita Koloff to win the titles 


The Lightning Express, (Brad Armstrong & Tim Horner), defeated Rick Steiner & Sting to win the UWF Tag Team Titles


WCW WrestleWar: Jacksonville, Florida:
– The Freebirds (Michael Hayes & Jimmy Garvin) defeated Terry Taylor & Greg Valentine to win the United States Tag Team Championship
– Brian Pillman defeated Tom Zenk to retain the WCW World Light Heavyweight Title
– WCW World Tag Team Champions Rick & Scott Steiner defeated Tatsumi Fujinami & Takayuki Iizuka 
– Sting, Nikita Koloff, Dustin Rhodes, Ricky Steamboat & Barry Windham defeated Arn Anderson, Bobby Eaton, Rick Rude, Steve Austin & Larry Zbyszko in a War Games match
– Diamond Dallas Page & Tommy Rich defeated Bob Cook & Firebreaker Chip
– Johnny B. Badd defeated Tracey Smothers
– Scotty Flamingo defeated Marcus Bagwell
– Ron Simmons defeated Mr. Hughes
– Super Invader defeated Todd Champion
– Big Josh defeated Richard Morton

Beckley, West Virginia:
– Thunder Tiger defeated the Master of Disaster
– Dixie Dynamite (Brian Armstrong) pinned Dutch Mantell
– Tim Horner pinned Buddy Landel
– Robert Gibson pinned Jimmy Golden
– Brian Lee pinned the Dirty White Boy
– Brad & Bart Batten defeated SMW Tag Team Champions The Heavenly Bodies, Stan Lane & Tom Prichard via disqualification


New York City:
– Marty Jannetty defeated Shawn Michaels to win the Intercontinental Title


WCW Slamboree: Worcester, Massachusetts:
– WCW World TV Champion Fit Finlay pinned Chris Benoit
– Lex Luger defeated Brian Adams 
– Ciclope won a cruiserweight battle royal
– Dean Malenko defeated WCW Cruiserweight Champion Chris Jericho to win the title
– Eddie Guerrero (with Chavo Guerrero Jr.) pinned Ultimo Dragon 
– Diamond Dallas Page pinned Raven in a Bowery Death Match
– WCW U.S. Champion Bill Goldberg pinned Perry Saturn
– Bret Hart defeated Randy Savage
– Sting & the Giant defeated WCW World Tag Team Champions Scott Hall & Kevin Nash (with Dusty Rhodes) to win the titles


WWF Judgment Day: Chicago, Illinois:
– Mickie James defeated Beth Phoenix (with Rosa Mendes)
– Umaga defeated CM Punk
– Christian defeated Jack Swagger to retain the ECW Championship
– John Morrison defeated Shelton Benjamin (with Charlie Haas)
– Rey Mysterio defeated Chris Jericho to retain the WWE Intercontinental Championship
– Batista defeated Randy Orton by disqualification, Orton retained the WWE Championship
– John Cena defeated Big Show
– Edge defeated Jeff Hardy to retain the World Heavyweight Championship