Daily Pro Wrestling History (01/15): Big John Studd wins 1989 Royal Rumble


Duluth, Minnesota:
– American Heavyweight Title: Stanislaus Zbyszko beat Jess Westergaard by DQ (Westergaard retained title)


Kansas City, Kansas:
– Dave Sims defeated Bobby Lane to win the NWA Central States Heavyweight Title 


Waterloo, Iowa:
– US Heavyweight Title match: Verne Gagne beat Bob Orton 2 falls to 1 to retain the title 


Minneapolis, Minnesota:
– Herb and Seymour Freeman defeated Reggie and Stan Lisowski for the Minneapolis NWA World Tag Team Title 

Kansas City, Kansas:
– Bobby Bruns, Bob Ellis and Billy McDaniel beat Lee Henning, Bill Longson and Mighty Atlas in 2 out of 3 falls
– Thor Hagen beat Bob Orton by DQ
– Joe Hamilton beat Rip Hawk
– Mighty Atlas b. Bobby Bruns by DQ


St. Paul, Minnesota:
– Larry Hennig and Duke Hoffman defeated Ivan and Nikita Kalmikoff in a tournament final for the vacant AWA World Tag Team Titles


Salem, Oregon:
– Luther Lindsay and Shag Thomas defeated The Destroyer and Art Michalik to win the NWA Pacific Northwest Tag Team Titles


Toronto, Ontario, Canada:
– Bulldog Brower beat Edouard Carpentier 
– Fred Atkins and Tiger Jeet Singh beat Ivan Kalmikoff and “Whipper” Billy Watson
– Sweet Daddy Siki beat Dutch Momberg 
– Rocky Johnson beat Stamford Murphy 
– Johnny Kostas beat Joe Christie 
– Billy “Red”Lyons and Hans Schmidt went to a 20:00 draw


Mobile, Alabama:
– Don Carson and Dick Dunn defeated Flash and Rocket Monroe for the NWA Gulf Coast Tag Team Title 


Tokuyama, Japan:
– Bill Dromo defeated Kintaro Ohki to win the Japan Wrestling Association All Asia Heavyweight Title


– Dory Dixon defeated Kinji Shibuya for the NWA Beat the Champ Television Title

Minneapolis, Minnesota:
– The Crusher beat Nick Bockwinkel 
– Billy Robinson beat Red Bastien
– Ivan Koloff & Big K beat Andre Rousimoff & Bull Bullinski on a 3rd fall DQ
– Larry Hennig beat Joe Scarpello
– Dusty Rhodes beat Billy Howard 


Long Beach, California:
– John Tolos defeated Pak Song to win the NWA Americas Heavyweight Title 

Dallas, Texas:
– The Great Mephisto defeated Jose Lothario for the NWA Texas Heavyweight Title

Mobile, Alabama:
– Norvell Austin and Rocket Monroe defeated Gunga Din and Kubla Khan to win the Gulf Coast NWA United States Tag Team Titles


San Francisco, California:
– The Brute defeated Peter Maivia to win the San Francisco NWA United States Heavyweight Title 


Kansas City, Kansas:
– Ripper Collins (w/ Percival A. Friend) defeated Bob Geigel
– Bob Brown & Ed Wiskoski defeated Ray Candy & Mike George
– Fence Match: Jerry Oates & Ted Oates defeated Ron Bass & Dutch Mantell


Portland, Oregon:
– Buddy Rose and Jesse Ventura won the NWA Pacific Northwest Tag Team Title from Dutch Savage and Jimmy Snuka


Mexico City, Mexico:
– Canek defeated Dr. Wagner for the Mexican National Light Heavyweight Title 


Memphis, Tennessee:
– Jackie Welch beat Danny Davis
– Dennis Condrey & Don Fargo beat Pez Whatley & Roger Howell
– Rip Smith, Bill Dundee, & Tommy Gilbert beat Chris Colt, David Schultz, & Wayne Ferris via DQ
– Ron Fuller beat Austin Idol to win the Southern Title


Tampa, Florida:
– Lumberjack Match: Mike Graham defeated Bugsy McGraw 
– Florida Title: Manny Fernandez defeated Leroy Brown by DQ
– $5,000 Challenge: Uvalde Slim defeated Super Destroyer 
– Bryan St John & Stan Lane & Johnny Valiant defeated Jack Brisco & Jerry Brisco & Don Diamond 


Oakland, California:
– Andre The Giant beat Jerry Blackwell
– Nick Bockwinkel beat Tito Santana
– Non Title: Pat Patterson & Ray Stevens beat AWA Tag Team Champions Adrian Adonis & Jesse Ventura
– John Studd drew Dino Bravo
– Greg Gagne beat Bobby Heenan
– Jerry Blackwell won battle royal


Miami, Florida:
– Mike Graham defeated Kevin Sullivan to win the NWA Florida Heavyweight Title

San Juan, Puerto Rico:
– King Tonga (Haku) defeated Invader I for the WWC Puerto Rico Heavyweight Title 

Guadalajara, Mexico:
– Ringo Mendoza defeated El Faraon to win the NWA World Light Heavyweight Title 


Montgomery, Alabama:
– Arn Anderson and Jerry Stubbs defeated Jimmy Golden and Jacques Rougeau in a tournament final for the vacant NWA Southeastern Tag Team Titles


Anoka, Minnesota: 
– The Terminators (Rigs and Wolf) were billed as the PWA Tag Team Champions 
– Mad Dog Vachon defeated “Mr. Electricity” Steve Regal to become the first PWA Heavyweight Champion
– Danny Gage defeated Mohammed Abass to become the first PWA Iron Horse Television Champion


Tampa, Florid:
– Jesse Barr defeated Lex Luger to win the Florida NWA Southern Heavyweight Title 


WWF Royal Rumble: Houston, Texas:
– Haku defeated Harley Race to win the unofficial title of “King of Wrestling”
– The Hart Foundation (Bret Hart and Jim Neidhart) and Jim Duggan defeated The Fabulous Rougeaus (Jacques and Raymond) and Dino Bravo (with Frenchy Martin and Jimmy Hart) in 2 out of 3 falls
– Big John Studd won the Royal Rumble


Kobe, Japan:
– Big Titan defeated Atsushi Onita to win the WWA World Martial Arts Title


Bluff City, Tennessee:
– Jimmy Golden defeated Reno Riggins
– Tracy Smothers defeated Killer Kyle
– Tim Horner defeated SMW Heavyweight Champion the Dirty White Boy via disqualification
– SMW Tag Team Champions Ricky Morton & Robert Gibson defeated Stan Lane & Tom Prichard
– Tracy Smothers won a battle royal


Dallas, Texas:
– John Hawk (John Layfield) defeated Kevin Von Erich to win the NWA North American Heavyweight Title 


Memphis, Tennessee:
– Miss Texas (Jackie Moore) defeated Lady Satan (Debbie Combs) for the USWA Women’s Title 


Lakeland, Florida:
– Rey Misterio, Jr. defeated WCW Cruiserweight Champion Juventud Guerrera to win the title
– Chris Jericho defeated Eddie Guerrero
– Lex Luger and Diamond Dallas Page defeated Kevin Nash and Randy Savage by disqualification


TNA Final Resolution: Orlando, Florida:
– Alex Shelley & Roderick Strong & Austin Aries defeated Matt Bentley (with Tracy Brooks) & Sonjay Dutt & Chris Sabin 
– AJ Styles defeated Hiroshi Tanahashi 
– NWA Tag Team champions; America’s Most Wanted (James Storm & Chris Harris) (with Gail Kim) defeated Team 3D to retain the titles
– TNA X-Division champion Samoa Joe defeated Christopher Daniels to retain the title